It *Sounded* Good…Right? pt.1

We all like to tell ourselves stuff and we try hard to believe it.

For example, when it is our intention to start something, we might say something to the effect of:
“I’m going to do such-and-such for this long, and by this certain time, I’ll have accomplished so-and-so.”

And when we say it, our voices hold the necessary inflection(s) that indicate we actually mean to do that which we say we mean to do.

Yeah. And then….

Somewhere down the line, we kind of lose focus on what we mean to do and we end up getting sidetracked…or just so far off the path that we never get around to doing what we’d meant to do and when that certain time arrives, we’ve got nothing.

But, when we’d said what we were going to do, it sounded so good…didn’t it?

More people than a few have a better focus on accomplishing what they want to accomplish. But, those few of us whose focus is pulled in ninety other directions at once, have a harder time of it than the more. Sometimes, it takes a certain kind of determination that I know I can hardly attain. I mean, I want to do certain things, but I feel so bogged down with my other daily responsibilities, I don’t necessarily feel like the such-and-such thing I mean to do can ever get done.

But, when I said I was going to do it, it sounded so great coming out my mouth, that I sort of, kind of want to keep trying to get it.

I say that to say this:

It’s pretty much okay to get off the track of getting your such-and-such accomplished…as long as you somehow, and not to far ahead, find your way back to such-and-such’s track.

Your idea/plan/thought sounded great coming out of your mouth and hitting whomever’s ears, but don’t let that be the end of it. Keep at it. Even if you reach that certain time’s deadline and you haven’t yet rounded the bend on your such-and-such, don’t take that as a defeat and quit.

A setback is just a setUP for a greater opportunity. Take it as such and keep going.

You might have to have a few jump starts before you’re running under your own power, but each jump start should be considered as a strengthening push, not a weakening drain.

What are you looking at that you’ve been wanting to do, but you just can’t seem to get there? What is it that sounded real good to you when you said it, but now you can’t seem to gather that same gumption to go after it?

It doesn’t matter if you have that same gumption; as long as you haven’t given up, you’re still good. And you know what? It sounded real good because it IS real good. Whether you “get into it” or you just “get to it”–Go Get It.

(I’ve got another part to “It *Sounded* Good…Right” coming up soon. Stay tuned.)

One thought on “It *Sounded* Good…Right? pt.1

  1. Your blog entry “It *Sounded* Good…Right?” was so true! It motivates me to continue pursuing my dreams, even the dreams that “sounded good” years ago! I’m waiting to read Part 2!

Leave a Reply

