So, What Do You Want?

 When I was younger my mama used to tell me that in order to be happy, I had to know what I wanted. Not just, “I want a Coke,” but in all categories of life.

And I used to mumble back at myself that I knew what I wanted.

I’m older now, and the one thing I come up against all the time is, “So what are you looking for in a relationship?” (And I think to myself, “Dang, I get that now!” LOL) You know what happens when I get asked that question?

I get stuck on the answer.

It’s not that I don’t know what I want, or that I can’t answer the question. I do know what I want, but it just seems so unnecessary to have to SAY it out loud. It just doesn’t seem like I should have to explain something that should be common sense.

I mean, what does anyone want in a relationship?
Companionship
Honesty
Laughter
Trust
Friendship
Love for one another

Why is there a need for me to have to explain this? (For the record, I understand the need, I just don’t like that the need is there!!)

Then, the next question that comes up is, “What do you want from/in a man?”

And then, I’m stumped all over again!!

Why? Is it because I don’t know what I want? Or, it it because I don’t know how to articulate the things I want from a guy? Or, maybe, once again, I don’t feel like I should have to say out loud what I want?

But then, I get to thinking: DO I know what I want from a guy? I think I do, but I so don’t normally see all the traits I want in any ONE man that I think I end up revising my list all too often.

I realize that you can’t expect the same things from every guy. Some people are just incapable of giving, or being, some things.

I decided to list all the general things I want. And I’ve come to realize that I want the same things in a man as I want in a relationship:
Love
Honesty
Companionship
Trust
Laughter
Friendship…

But then, I also want someone to go to church with me; someone I can respect and who respects me; someone I can look up to, cherish, and yes, I want to show him off to my friends and family.

Yes, folks, that is MY list! LOL It’s short, sweet, simple and straight to the point.

Knowing what you want, and being able to express what you want are very essential in pursuing a successful relationship. You’ve got to know what you want in order to get what you want.

So, not that you have to tell me but, what do you want??

One thought on “So, What Do You Want?

Leave a Reply

