Yes, Randomness

 

This blog is just about random things that have been floating around in my head this week. There’s not any rhyme or reason in this, but if you get my drift, let me get a comment or two. LOL

For instance, we always say that the Bible says, “You shall not lie”, but really the Bible kinda says, “Don’t lie on your brother.” The scripture, Exodus 20:16 expressly says not to give false witness on your brother. In other words, don’t lie on your brother, but it doesn’t really say NOT to lie. LOL I know that my thinking is generalizing a very wide verse. Now, Colossians 3:9 DOES say not to lie to one another.  But then, if you think about, the Bible sort of encourages lying to a point. Look at 2 Corinthians 4:13 which says,

“But having the same spirit of faith, according to what is written, ”
I believe, therefore I spoke,” we also believe, therefore we also speak
.”

This verse has encouraged the phrase that says “we speak those things that should be into existence.”  I’m going to generalize a wide verse again, but generally this means, if you want it speak about it like you already have it and then you will get it.” But, isn’t that lying? My momma used to say to me that I should tell myself that I was rich everyday and eventually I’ll have enough money for whatever. I never did this because, basically, I’m lying to myself. I might WISH I was rich, but I’m NOT rich and telling myself that I am won’t make it so without hard work and determination. (Or a GREAT DIVINE INTERVENTION FROM THE LORD)

There’s no moral behind that…it was just a thought……

Also, my brain wonders what constitutes a “relationship”? I talked to this guy on the phone for like a month or so, seen him in person twice and did the horizontal bogaloo with him once and then he got mad at me for whatever reason and now I don’t talk to him anymore. Does that constitute a relationship?

That’s all I wanted to know about that…..

I read a blog today in which the writer was talking about how she has a sew-in weave. Now, of course, the weave ain’t my issue… No, it’s the fact that she said the Bible denounced the braiding of women’s hair TWICE. I had never known that. So, I looked it up and sure enough, there it was in 1 Timothy 2: 9-10

“Likewise, I want women to adorn themselves with proper clothing, modestly and discreetly,
not with braided hair and gold or pearls or costly garments 10 but rather by means of good works, as is proper for women making a claim to godliness.”

I had never known this. I didn’t know there was a “suggestion” in the Bible that women should not have their hair braided. Not that this is a commandment or anything, but Timothy (or whomever the author of the book of the Timothys really is) was strongly suggesting that women should be …….. (let’s say) less worried with their appearance and more concerned with how they portray themselves as women of God (let’s say that…..) And all I could think about when reading that blog this morning was REALLY? There is actually something that says how women should wear their hair when they are expressing God’s word.

And I wondered: Who really thinks God’s looking at the woman’s HEAD when she’s teaching His word? Is God REALLY concentrating on the woman’s HEAD when she’s witnessing about His good works in her life to those who might not know who God is? Timothy (or whomever) was really, actually, truly concerned about the woman’s HEAD when giving some instructions on the woman’s “place” in the church? ((Wow! No wonder we’re all screwed up today….. The concentration started slipping WAY long time ago. LOL))

Well, that’s all I have for now. Sorry that there’s no real thought to this thought process.

Leave a Reply

