No Regrets…No not one

You know, I was sitting here tonight just thinking about things I’ve done or haven’t done in my life. And I was thinking to myself: “Self, do you regret doing, or not doing, the things you’ve done or haven’t done up to this point in life?”

And myself answered back, “Honestly, no I don’t.”

I’m thinking about it and I’ve got to say that that’s the most honest answer I can give myself. I don’t regret doing, or not doing, anything.

If I did it, then I MEANT to do it.
If I did it, then I LEARNED something from doing it.
If I did it, then I did it.

If I didn’t do it, then, even if I WANTED to do it, I understand that there must have been a reason for NOT doing it.
If I didn’t do it, then, even if I WANTED to do it, I understand that I STILL learned something from NOT doing it.
If I didn’t do it, then, even if I WANTED to do it, I understand that maybe God’s plan was for me to either not do it THEN, or to never do it at all.

I don’t regret the things I’ve done. There’s no real point in regretting anything. You can’t go back. You can keep looking back, but you’re going to run smack into the things that are right in front of you, and you won’t be prepared. If you keep looking back, you just might miss some stuff that’s sitting out to the side of the front of you that you’ll NEVER see watching your back.

If you keep looking back on all the things you’ve done, or haven’t done, you just might never get to do the things you STILL want to do.

So, do I regret anything from my past? No, I don’t.
Do I wish I would have done some things differently? Well, yes, sometimes I do. But, as they say “hindsight is 20/20.”
Do I wish I could go back and change some things? Not really. (Although if I COULD go back, I’d be 17 yrs old for a REALLY long time. LOL Think about that: at 17 yrs old MOST of us had jobs, were graduating high school, living with parents (grandparents) for a lot of us, all the people we loved were still alive and well, and most importantly, we had NO responsibilities outside of MAYBE a telephone/cellphone bill…. who WOULDN’T want to be that age again for a REALLY long time???)

Anyway, this blog was just a reflection for me. I was thinking about ONE thing that led me to THIS thing.
That ONE thing, I really do wish I could have done some things differently, but I DON’T regret doing that ONE thing at all. I’m glad I did it and if the chance were to ever arise again, I’d do it again.

I learned a lot about myself.

I knowing ME.

Leave a Reply

