I Am Not Trayvon Martin….But —


I normally don’t blog on things that are going on in the public world.
I like to keep my blogs on ME and my personal life and my opinions on my personal life’s situations.

But, I have to comment on the Trayvon Martin situation because of a blog post I read last week.

The blog last week was asking why Trayvon Martin was getting such a huge outcry now when another young man’s death, with similar circumstances, received no “fanfare” at all. I replied on that blog, but let me expound on  my comment here.

IN MY OPINION:

The Trayvon Martin case ain’t really about another young black man being gunned down AGAIN. No, this time, this outrage is about how it was handled by the local police and the fact that the guilty party is still free! He’s not even free ON BAIL, his whereabouts are freaking unknown!

This is a case of a white man killing a black man and NOTHING BEING DONE ABOUT IT!

This is a case where the police was called even before the shooting occurred and they still got there late!

This is a case where the SHOOTER called the police even before the shooting occurred and the police STILL got there late!

And when they did finally arrive, after a life had been too early diminished, the shooter gets to go home. Not even detained long enough for the police to have a “pretty good” idea of what happened. The police saw a Black boy lying dead on the ground and decided to take the shooter’s (a WHITE man) word that, DESPITE SUPPORTING EVIDENCE, the shooting was justified as “self-defense.”

WHY the “outcry”, sir?

The young man in your blog, he may have been shot as a case of “mistaken identity.” Perhaps his shooter was apprehended, detained, and justifiably punished. Perhaps, I don’t know the details of the young man’s case.

BUT…….

Trayvon Martin was shot, most probably DEFINITELY, BECAUSE of his identity.
But, not because his name was Trayvon.
But, because he was identified as “one of them.”
Because he was identified as “those kind.”
Trayvon Martin was CORRECTLY identified as a young black male.
And BECAUSE of his identity, he was shot.

But, the outcry, sir, is NOT about Mr. Martin being shot. Yes, that’s surely a tragedy. The outcry, mister, is about the following events…..

This young, dead kid was in HIS OWN neighborhood. He was basically stalked and murdered for being himself!
His body was taken away and his family wasn’t even notified of his death for 3 whole days!
Can you imagine being shot and killed in the neighborhood where you live and NO ONE in your household being told about it? They kept Mr. Martin’s body in the morgue UNNAMED and UNCLAIMED for three days! (I forget how his father finally found out that his son was dead.)
His murderer was let go with the flimsiest story on Earth.
Trayvon Martin’s, the innocent victim in this case, character was SMEARED BY THE MEDIA! The victim’s character was called into question and then he was ultimately BLAMED for his own death! He wasn’t just killed, he was killed physically and then they murdered his memory in the media. They tried to kill his spirit along with his body. They tried to make sure that no one REALLY mourned a young man who didn’t deserve to die to begin with.
Months have now gone by and Trayvon Martin’s family hasn’t received any justice STILL.
There HAD to be a public outcry JUST to get an investigation STARTED!!!

And you wanna know WHY the outcry?

I think it is sad when ANY life gets snuffed out before it’s time. And I think that something should be done in ANY case.
But in this case: we need to ALL gather together to cry on the mountaintops that there needs to be some kind of proper justice.
Not just against George Zimmerman, the original perpetrator here, but also against the police officers who originally answered the call made by Zimmerman HIMSELF; against the police DEPARTMENT for trying to make this killing seem so inconsequential; against the police chief for just being an ignorant racist; and against the freaking City Manager (or whatever that lil black dude was) for not making a stand that solidified SOME KIND of decision!

I may not be Trayvon Martin, but because I know so many other young black boys and men who COULD BE, because I know that “there but by the grace of God go I”….I support any kind of movement that comes about and I’m not going to try and compare any other death with the injustice BLACK AMERICANS who are doing nothing more than minding their own business face on a regular daily basis. It’s a wonder we even heard of Trayvon Martin’s case. There’s other cases where the loved ones NEVER hear anything of their young men who simply “go missing”. These types of cases are, at least in small circles for now, being called “modern day lynchings”. This IS America and what we are experiencing in 2012 is what I am calling “falling backwards.”

Everyone wanted to feel like America was making a transition towards a LESS racist country when President Obama was elected. However, we’ve not felt those sentiments all over this country.
I, personally, NEVER believed that at all.
I KNEW that just because we have made SOME steps, we hadn’t made any that would make a difference.
Where there is an in-born HATRED, there is NOTHING that will eradicate that hatred.
There is NOTHING that’s going to KILL that hatred.
There will never be anything at all to drive that hatred OUT of this country.

Why do I say that? Because, inherently AND overtly, people are mean and they’re not giving too freaks about how others feel about it. We’re a country of Christians, religions, and God-fearing people…but sometimes, a lot of times, we’re not on one accord and that makes it very difficult to come together in agreement for anything at all.

I am NOT Trayvon Martin…But–

My heart goes out to, and my prayers go up for, Trayvon Martin, his family, and others who are in this or other situations .
God IS going to move in a mighty way, real soon!

One thought on “I Am Not Trayvon Martin….But —

  1. I ALWAYS DID LIKE READING THING U WORTE U JUST SO DAM GIFTED WHT UR WORDS I HATED IT WHEN TAHT GIRL STOLE U BOOK WHT ALL THE STUFF U WORTE I USED TO READ THEM WHEN U WASNT HOME IT MAADE ME FEEL AN LITTLE BET SMARTERIF I COULD UNDERSTAND WHAT U WAS SAYING LOL

Leave a Reply

