How Do You Feel About You?

At this time, I’m going to talk about the issue of self-esteem. I’m probably going to sound really bashing, and for that, I apologize profusely up front.

But, I’m going to get on with it.

Now, I’ll start with a statement I think is true, but some won’t agree with; and I also think is overcome-able, but many, again, won’t agree with me on that opinion, either.

What I’m going to say is this:

If you were taught growing up that you should put any stock at all in the public opinion of what you look like and generally how you should act/think/believe, then you are 87% doomed for life in the self-esteem arena. BUT, there is still that 13% chance that you will be able to come out of it eventually. (Anything over 0% is redeemable in my opinion.)

quincy

Eleanor Roosevelt, I believe it was, was the one who said, “No one can make you feel inferior without your permission.” Self-esteem is a personal CHOICE on how you feel about yourself without the approval of someone else’s opinion.

When you wake up in the morning, you have the choice to feel good about yourself or to feel bad about you. People are going to like you or dislike you regardless of which choice you decide to make daily. So you might as well decide to do what makes you feel good daily.

For me, it was never a lesson one way or the other in that sense for me. My mom and/or grandma and/or aunts didn’t consciously tell me that I needed to decide on what made me happy about myself for me. They didn’t try to drill into me that public opinion matter or didn’t in my life. Their actions, however, just showed me that the choice was mine.

And since I knew very early on that I didn’t like the fact that people took it upon themselves to assert themselves and their opinions on everyone, it was an easy choice for me to disregard everyone’s opinion about me. It was easy for me to decide that I had to live for me, do what mattered to me and, basically, damn how everyone else felt about it.

Mostly, I’ve tried with actions and words to teach this to my daughter….I think she has learned the lesson well (maybe TOO well…lol).

But, you guys–chicks, women, girls, dudes, guys, men–who base your whole personal opinion of yourselves from what the public will say when they see you…….You guys are just basically friggin’ crazy!!

Like the great Katt Williams once said in a stand-up joint, “How you gonna be mad at me for how YOU feel about YOU? It’s called SELF-esteem, b***hes!”

And really, that’s the truth.

How are you living life censoring yourself on how you feel about you by what someone ELSE says should feel about you?

And then this:

If you don’t like something about yourself, don’t choose to let that something bother you…..DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT!! CHOOSE to do something about that which bothers you instead of trying to make yourself feel worse and then blaming it on other people. That’s just insane. You have power over yourself….use it!

Self-esteem is really a simple thing. It is something that governs your daily movements. It determines what you do with yourself…how you live your life on a regular basis. Self-esteem is what determines your self-worth. If you have low self-esteem then you are probably very lowly valued in your self-worth.

Know this–and I’ll leave this babbling rant of a blog…..

Know this: A good and highly valued sense of self-esteem is very easy to achieve, it’s very simple to wake up in the morning, look at yourself and choose to be, at the least, OK with what you see looking back at you. If you look and don’t like it, you have the choice to do something about it. You have a choice to get away from public opinion and decide to pay attention to the only opinion that actually matters: Yours.

If you have low self-esteem, here’s a challenge for you: Look in the mirror and seek out and find just ONE thing that you like and focus on that ONE thing for that day. Do that every day….and ADD to the list. Don’t wake up and just find the SAME thing to be happy/OK with. Find something new everyday.
Your whole demeanor for yourself will change.
And you can choose to be happy about that or nah!
But, it’s YOUR choice!
Make it and live free!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

